TLWIAS Episode 23 - Best media of 2020

  • Posted on: 8 January 2021
  • By: Michelle Brightwell

Rob and Michelle recap some of their favorite books and media of 2020 in this episode! Check us out wherever you listen to your podcasts!

Michelle's Pics

Southern Book Club’s guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix

Audio on Hoopla

Audio on Overdrive and libby

Ebook on overdrive and libby

In branches

 

Fried Green Tomatoes and Steel Magnolias meet Dracula in this Southern-flavored supernatural thriller set in the '90s about a women's book club that must protect its suburban community from a mysterious and handsome stranger who turns out to be a real monster.

You can listen to our fun interview with author Grady Hendrix in episode 9, and you can listen to Michelle talk more about the book in episode 1, Books and Movies that Scared Us.

 

The Girl from Widow Hills by Megan Miranda

Audio in branches

Book in branches

Book on overdrive and libby

Arden Maynor was just six years old when she was swept away while sleepwalking in a rainstorm. Fame as the survivor of Widow Hills undid her life, until she moved far away and changes her name. She begins to feel like she's being watched and, soon, her past comes back to haunt her. Find out more in episode 7!

Open Book by Jessica Simpson

Book in branches

Audio in branches

Audio on overdrive and libby

Guided by the journals she's kept since age fifteen, and brimming with her unique humor and down-to-earth humanity, Open Book is as inspiring as it is entertaining.

More info about open book in episode 20!

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by VE Schwab

Audio on overdrive and libby

Book in branches

In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying tour de force. A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget. France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever—and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Robs pics

VFW

A group of veterans fight off an army of lunatics attacking the bar they are closing down. A true old school jaw-jacking, non stop action assault.

Movie on Hoopla

 

The Hunt

Twelve strangers awaken to quickly realize they are prey for blood-thirsty maniacs. One of the strangers may not be who the hunters think she is.

In Branches

 

The Invisible Man

A woman tries to get away from her abusive partner, who stalks her and terrorizes her while wearing a suit that renders him invisible. 

In branches

Other Mentions-

Best of the Pandemic Made Movies:

Host

Made during the quarantine lock-down in the UK, friends gather for a Zoom seance. They awaken an evil entity. It all plays out on a computer screen and is surprisingly effective. (Currently only available on Shudder, but watch on Hoopla. Hoopla has a lot of Shudder Exclusives.)

 

Best Musical Remake:

Valley Girl

Very enjoyable musical remake of the 1983 Romeo & Juliet story about a Val Gal falling for a punk from Hollywood. A surprisingly fun teen-comedy/drama. Currently the soundtrack is available on Hoopla.

Soundtrack on Hoopla

Blockbuster Pandemic Release:

The Wretched

This little horror tale about a teen dealing with the soul-sucking witch next door was one of the few new films released in the Spring to a handful of drive-in movie screens that were open,  but it managed to be the number one film in the country for five weeks straight. (Black Panther in 2018 was the last film to be number one for five consecutive weeks in a row.)

In Branches

 

Best Drive-in Double Feature During the Pandemic:

Christine (1983) & Fright Night (1985)- Although both are older titles from the 80's, this was Rob's favorite drive-in double feature of the year. Hard to beat classic 80's horror on the big outdoor screen.

Fright night In Branches
 

 

Worst of 2020:

Fantasy Island

Let's just say Ricardo Montalban and Hervé Villechaize would not be amused at all by this remake of their classic 70's TV show.

Movie in Branches

 

You can find us on Anchor, Breaker, Google Podcasts, Pocket Casts, RadioPublic, Spotify, Apple Podcasts.

Tags: