Blogs

Explore Religious Diversity with Your Children - Winter Holidays

  • Posted on: 3 December 2019
  • By: Jon Schafle

With Thanksgiving behind us, the holidays now begin in earnest with a continuing focus on family and togetherness, it is also a great opportunity to introduce your children to the practices and cultures of others that celebrate this time of year. Below are some book suggestions to share with your loved ones from our collection, for a more extensive look feel free to take a look at our guide for Winter Holiday Books:

Books Featuring Multiple Holidays

Lawyers in the Library

  • Posted on: 29 November 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

 Lawyers in the Library: Free legal aid clinic comes to Downtown


Starting in December, the Downtown Huntsville Library, through a partnership with the Madison County Volunteer Lawyers Program (MCVLP) will offer regular legal aid clinics to the public called “Lawyers in the Library.”  The clinic will be held on the third Thursday of the month, from 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. in meeting rooms C and D on the second floor.

 

Holiday Happenings at your library

  • Posted on: 21 November 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton


The holiday season is a fun time to visit your local library. We have many amazing programs and events happening throughout December that will not stretch your wallet! Check them out below (and click on the link for more information). Please note that some events require registration and may fill up.

Monday, December 2, 6:30 p.m.

Crafterwork- Embroidered Ornaments

Madison Public Library Makerspace

 

Thursday, December 5, 4:30 p.m.

DIY Ornament Making

Tillman D. Hill Public Library of Hazel Green

 

WLRH- A Library Radio Station

  • Posted on: 7 November 2019
  • By: Shalis Worthy

In 1910, Lee de Forest successfully transmitted the first voices, those of New York Metropolitan Opera stars, over radio waves. Over the next 20 years, radio technology became increasingly available to the average American citizen, and by 1931 approximately half of all American households owned a radio. Over those decades, radio surpassed the newspaper as a quick way to get news.

 

Librarian Book Club for November

  • Posted on: 30 October 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

Title: Get a Life, Chloe Brown

Author: Talia Hibbert

Release Date: November 5,  2019

Place a hold in our catalog!

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang.

Celebrate Small Businesses at your Library

  • Posted on: 28 October 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

 

We are celebrating small businesses this month! November is National Entrepreneurship Month and it is also Small Business Saturday (November 30). Your public library is a great resource if you are either looking to start a small business or looking for ways to showcase your business through our markets. 

 

Check out what we are doing at your local library during November:

 

Saturday, November 16, 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.

Small Business Expo

Showers Center Library

Library to host informational sessions on human trafficking

  • Posted on: 11 October 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

Parents, teachers, caregivers and other concerned citizens will have two opportunities to learn more about human trafficking this month at the Huntsville-Madison County Public Library. The North Alabama Human Trafficking Task Force will present on the topic at the following locations:

Tuesday, October 22 at 6:00 p.m. at the Madison Public Library 

Tuesday, October 29 at 6:30 p.m. at the Downtown Huntsville Library (second floor events room).

Pages