Recommendations

Librarian Book Club for November

  • Posted on: 30 October 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

Title: Get a Life, Chloe Brown

Author: Talia Hibbert

Release Date: November 5,  2019

Place a hold in our catalog!

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang.

Navigating our spooky Libguides in time for Halloween

  • Posted on: 3 October 2019
  • By: Jon Schafle

     Although you can't tell by the temperature outside, fall is underway and with that comes the time of frightful fun that only comes with Halloween! Regardless of the age range or type of material you're looking for, there are some fun and easy ways to browse and find the perfect thing to check out for you or any member of your family. Through the library's website, we have numerous research guides, called Libguides, on a variety of different topics compiled by our knowledgeable staff; several of which written by yours truly. You can access them here. For this festive time of year especially, I have made several guides to make browsing our collection even easier.

Librarian Book Club for October

  • Posted on: 30 September 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

We are so excited about our October book club pick! The authors, Judy Christie and Lisa Wingate, will here for a special Community Conversation with the Huntsville Library Foundation on October 29. More information may be found here.

Before and After: The Incredible Real-Life Stories of Orphans Who Survived the Tennessee Children's Home Society by Judy Christie and Lisa Wingate

Release Date: October 22

Librarian Book Club for August

  • Posted on: 31 July 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

Our August Librarian Book Club pick is a novel set in North Alabama....."Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe," by Heather Webber

Release Date: July 16, 2019

Place a hold in our catalog!

From Goodreads:

Heather Webber's Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe is a captivating blend of magical realism, heartwarming romance, and small-town Southern charm.

Nestled in the mountain shadows of Alabama lies the little town of Wicklow. It is here that Anna Kate has returned to bury her beloved Granny Zee, owner of the Blackbird Café.

Stranger Things 3 - Let's Do the Time Warp Again!

  • Posted on: 15 July 2019
  • By: Jon Schafle

The third season of the Netflix series, "Stranger Things" was just released in time for the Independence Day and is a thrill ride of 80's nostalgia! Whether you've already binged the entire season in one day, are working through it slowly or haven't started it yet, we've curated some of our favorite library materials to fully immerse yourself in the world of "Stranger Things!" If you're looking to catch up, we have both the first and second seasons in the system as well as the officially licensed book and comic book that give you a look at even more of the back story of the peculiar events in Hawkins: 

 

Your Librarian List: Not So New Summer Reads

  • Posted on: 28 June 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

If you are like me, your "to-read" list is pretty ambitious, which is why I am still trying to get through last year's releases. Here is a great list of "not so new" summer reads to pick up while you are enjoying some down time (or air conditioning)......

 

The Last Cruise

by Kate Christensen

Place a hold!

 

 

 

Mary B: A Novel

by Katherine J. Chen

Pages