Recommendations

Explore Religious Diversity with Your Children - Winter Holidays

  • Posted on: 3 December 2019
  • By: Jon Schafle

With Thanksgiving behind us, the holidays now begin in earnest with a continuing focus on family and togetherness, it is also a great opportunity to introduce your children to the practices and cultures of others that celebrate this time of year. Below are some book suggestions to share with your loved ones from our collection, for a more extensive look feel free to take a look at our guide for Winter Holiday Books:

Books Featuring Multiple Holidays

Librarian Book Club for November

  • Posted on: 30 October 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

Title: Get a Life, Chloe Brown

Author: Talia Hibbert

Release Date: November 5,  2019

Place a hold in our catalog!

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang.

Navigating our spooky Libguides in time for Halloween

  • Posted on: 3 October 2019
  • By: Jon Schafle

     Although you can't tell by the temperature outside, fall is underway and with that comes the time of frightful fun that only comes with Halloween! Regardless of the age range or type of material you're looking for, there are some fun and easy ways to browse and find the perfect thing to check out for you or any member of your family. Through the library's website, we have numerous research guides, called Libguides, on a variety of different topics compiled by our knowledgeable staff; several of which written by yours truly. You can access them here. For this festive time of year especially, I have made several guides to make browsing our collection even easier.

Librarian Book Club for October

  • Posted on: 30 September 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

We are so excited about our October book club pick! The authors, Judy Christie and Lisa Wingate, will here for a special Community Conversation with the Huntsville Library Foundation on October 29. More information may be found here.

Before and After: The Incredible Real-Life Stories of Orphans Who Survived the Tennessee Children's Home Society by Judy Christie and Lisa Wingate

Release Date: October 22

Librarian Book Club for August

  • Posted on: 31 July 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

Our August Librarian Book Club pick is a novel set in North Alabama....."Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe," by Heather Webber

Release Date: July 16, 2019

Place a hold in our catalog!

From Goodreads:

Heather Webber's Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe is a captivating blend of magical realism, heartwarming romance, and small-town Southern charm.

Nestled in the mountain shadows of Alabama lies the little town of Wicklow. It is here that Anna Kate has returned to bury her beloved Granny Zee, owner of the Blackbird Café.

Pages