Melanie Thornton's blog

Lawyers in the Library

  • Posted on: 29 November 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

 Lawyers in the Library: Free legal aid clinic comes to Downtown


Starting in December, the Downtown Huntsville Library, through a partnership with the Madison County Volunteer Lawyers Program (MCVLP) will offer regular legal aid clinics to the public called “Lawyers in the Library.”  The clinic will be held on the third Thursday of the month, from 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. in meeting rooms C and D on the second floor.

 

Holiday Happenings at your library

  • Posted on: 21 November 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton


The holiday season is a fun time to visit your local library. We have many amazing programs and events happening throughout December that will not stretch your wallet! Check them out below (and click on the link for more information). Please note that some events require registration and may fill up.

Monday, December 2, 6:30 p.m.

Crafterwork- Embroidered Ornaments

Madison Public Library Makerspace

 

Thursday, December 5, 4:30 p.m.

DIY Ornament Making

Tillman D. Hill Public Library of Hazel Green

 

Librarian Book Club for November

  • Posted on: 30 October 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

Title: Get a Life, Chloe Brown

Author: Talia Hibbert

Release Date: November 5,  2019

Place a hold in our catalog!

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang.

Celebrate Small Businesses at your Library

  • Posted on: 28 October 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

 

We are celebrating small businesses this month! November is National Entrepreneurship Month and it is also Small Business Saturday (November 30). Your public library is a great resource if you are either looking to start a small business or looking for ways to showcase your business through our markets. 

 

Check out what we are doing at your local library during November:

 

Saturday, November 16, 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.

Small Business Expo

Showers Center Library

Library to host informational sessions on human trafficking

  • Posted on: 11 October 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

Parents, teachers, caregivers and other concerned citizens will have two opportunities to learn more about human trafficking this month at the Huntsville-Madison County Public Library. The North Alabama Human Trafficking Task Force will present on the topic at the following locations:

Tuesday, October 22 at 6:00 p.m. at the Madison Public Library 

Tuesday, October 29 at 6:30 p.m. at the Downtown Huntsville Library (second floor events room).

Librarian Book Club for October

  • Posted on: 30 September 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

We are so excited about our October book club pick! The authors, Judy Christie and Lisa Wingate, will here for a special Community Conversation with the Huntsville Library Foundation on October 29. More information may be found here.

Before and After: The Incredible Real-Life Stories of Orphans Who Survived the Tennessee Children's Home Society by Judy Christie and Lisa Wingate

Release Date: October 22

Five Book Clubs to Check Out

  • Posted on: 17 September 2019
  • By: Melanie Thornton

The Huntsville-Madison County Public Library has a book club for every level and interest, across its 12 locations. We wanted to highlight some of our more unique/popular adult book clubs across the system.

Here are 5 book clubs that you should check out if you are looking for a group of like-minded individuals:

 

Fantasy Flight Book Club

Meets: Das Stahl Bierhaus; 7914 Memorial Parkway SW (Sponsored by the Eleanor Murphy Library)

When: First Tuesday of the month at 7:00 p.m.

Book Picks: Science fiction and fantasy

For people who like: structure but in a fun setting, friendly conversation, good beer.

 

NEW: High Octane Book Club

Pages